Joseph H. Holmes Clinical Pioneer Award

The Pioneer Award, which honors individuals who have significantly contributed to the growth and development of medical ultrasound, was established in 1977. This special award was renamed in 1982 to honor Joseph H. Holmes, MD, who died that year. Dr Holmes, the first person named as an AIUM pioneer, was an important figure to both the field of diagnostic ultrasound and the AIUM. His early efforts in ultrasound research, which included tissue characterization and ultrasound's diagnostic use in polycystic kidney disease and orthopedics, helped advance the field of ultrasound and encourage others to conduct new research. Serving the AIUM in many capacities, Dr Holmes was president from 1968 to 1970 and was editor of the AIUM's official journal, which was then titled the *Journal of Clinical Ultrasound*, for nearly 10 years. Each year, the Joseph H. Holmes Pioneer Award honors at least 2 current or retired AIUM members for their work in clinical science or basic science.

Steven R. Goldstein, MD, FAIUM



The AIUM is proud to award the Joseph H. Holmes Clinical Pioneer Award to AIUM Past President Steven R. Goldstein, MD. Dr Goldstein has earned it as a result of his extensive work in gynecologic ultrasound, including his pioneering work in early pregnancy, menopausal and perimenopausal ultrasound.

Dr Goldstein began his illustrious career after receiving his MD from the New York University (NYU) School of Medicine in 1975, followed by spending his

postgraduate year 1 at Parkland Memorial Hospital in Dallas, Texas, and then he became a resident at the NYU Affiliated Hospitals Bellevue Hospital Center in New York until 1980. He quickly moved up from clinical instructor to professor in 1996 and has remained in that position to this day.

That is not to say, however, that Dr Goldstein has had a stagnant career. No, in addition to the time he spends sharing his knowledge with future generations of students, he volunteers: reviewing for multiple journals such as *Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynecology* and *Fertility and Sterility*, serving on the Editorial Boards of more, including the *Journal of Ultrasound in Medicine*, Menopause, Climacteric, and is an Associate Editor of The American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology. He is past Chair of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (NY Section), Past President of the AIUM, Past President of the North American Menopause Society, and President-elect of the International Menopause Society.

In addition, Dr Goldstein had been certified by the North American Menopause Society, the International Society of Clinical Densitometry, and retains certification from the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology. He also has been the principal investigator in multiple studies using ultrasound to monitor uterine safety of new therapeutic compounds. He chaired the AIUM's International Consensus Conference on Adnexal Masses, and has service on numerous other consensus conferences on early pregnancy and adnexal masses.

This award is also not even close to being Dr Goldstein's first. His potential was seen as a student at NYU, when he received the Samuel Soffer Award for Outstanding Student in Urology, and as a professor, when he received the 13th annual Rudy E. Sabbagha Lecture in Diagnostic Ultrasound from Northwestern University. The long list of honors and awards Dr Goldstein has received continues and includes the Thomas B. Clarkson Outstanding Clinical and Basic Science Research Award from the North American Menopause Society, which he received in 2016.

Dr Goldstein was the first to describe the use of transvaginal ultrasound in postmenopausal patients with bleeding, the unusual ultrasound appearance of women receiving tamoxifen, significance of endometrial fluid collections, and the potential role of ultrasound in conservative management of simple postmenopausal cysts. He has been a prolific writer, teacher, and lecturer in gynecologic ultrasound. For all these reasons, and more, he is deserving of the Joseph H. Holmes Clinical Pioneer Award.