Memorial Hall of Fame

Established in 1981, the Memorial Hall of Fame serves as a posthumous tribute to a creative and devoted physician, research scientist, or other individual who has been an active member of the AIUM and contributed to the field of ultrasound in medicine. Honorees are announced at the Annual Meeting.

Peter H. Arger, MD, FAIUM, FACR



Peter H. Arger, MD, FAIUM, FACR, who was a renowned radiologist with widely recognized expertise in ultrasound and who championed including ultrasound in medical student education died on December 28, 2022.

Dr Arger received his Bachelor of Arts from Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, and his Bachelor of Science and Medical Doctorate from the University of Illinois Medical School in Chicago. After completing a rotating internship at Philadelphia General Hospital and a residency/fellowship in radiology at Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Dr Arger went on to serve in the US Air Force for 2 years.

Upon his return from military service, Dr Arger began his academic career as an instructor in radiology at Jefferson Medical College Hospital. He worked his way up to be a professor of radiology and a professor of radiology in obstetrics and gynecology at the hospital of the University of Pennsylvania Medical Center in Philadelphia. Dr Arger spent more than 30 years there, many of them trying to get ultrasound incorporated into the medical student curriculum, before retiring in 2002 and leaving his colleague, Harvey L. Nisenbaum, MD, FACR, FAIUM, FSRU, to continue that effort.

In addition, Dr Arger authored more than 200 publications, edited 10 books, served as course director of more than 20 educational seminars, and held close to 320 educational presentations and exhibits. He also was the faculty featured in 2 Meet-the-Professor sessions held at the American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine's (AIUM's) annual meetings.

In recognition of his dedication to the fields of radiology and ultrasound, Dr Arger has received numerous awards and honors, including the AIUM's Presidential Award in 1988, 1993, and 2000. Dr Arger also served the AIUM in various additional capacities, including 9 years on the Executive Committee, as treasurer, president-elect, president, and past president. During his presidency, Dr Arger spearheaded the AIUM's Endowment for Education and Research (now known as the FUTURE Fund) in recognition of the enormous potential for ultrasound in medicine and the need for funding. This fund supports pioneering researchers, educators, and practitioners in developing exciting technologies and applications for the future of medical

ultrasound. Dr Arger was also instrumental in the creation of the AIUM's ultrasound practice accreditation program, the AIUM Sonography Community, and Distinguished Sonographer Award, and the New Investigator Award. In addition, he was a member of the Board of Governors, a member of 14 AIUM committees, including the AIUM's Annual Convention Committee, and served as the chair of the AIUM's Ultrasound Practice Accreditation Council as well as 5 of the committees.

As a result of his many contributions to the AIUM and ultrasound in medical student education, Dr Arger's legacy will live on, although he will be greatly missed.